Saturday, February 2, 2013


First Nuclear Implosion was carried out on May 18,1974 at Pokharan in Rajasthan (Thar) desert. The main objective was the use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes, i.e.digging canals, reservoirs, oil exploration, as well as to study rock dynamics. This successful implosion made India the sixth nuclear nation in the world. In Pokhran (Rajasthan) three tests were conducted on May 11, 1998 and two on May 13, 1998. Code named "Operation Shakti". India declared itself a nuclear weapon state capable of deterring a nuclear attack on its territory.


1. Tarapur Atomic Power Station Tarapur (Maharashtra)

2. Rajasthan Atomic Power Starion Rawabhata

3. Madras Atomic Power Station Kalpakkam (Tamil Nadu)

4. Narora Atomic Power Station Narora (Uttar Pradesh)

5. Kakrapara Atomic Power Station Kakrapara  (Gujarat)

6. Koodangulam Atomic Power Station (KNPP) (Tamil Nadu)

7. Kaiga Power Project (KPP) Kaiga (Karnataka)

Atomic Energy Commission: was established in 1948, with Dr H.J. Bhabha as its first Chairman, to look after India’s atomic energy programmes.

Department of Atomic Energy (DAE): was set up in August 1954 for implementation of atomic energy
programmes and headed by the Prime Minister of India.

It has several centres/laboratories:

1. Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research: is located at Kalpakkam (Chennai) , it was established in 1971.

2. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC): was established in1957, it is located in Trombay (Maharashtra) and is India’s largest atomic research centre.

3. Centre for Advanced Technology (CAT):is located at Indore, it was established in 1984.


The Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPC), set up in 1987, is responsible for the design, construction and operation of nuclear power plants in the country. It is envisaged that by 2000 AD, India’s atomic power generation would be in the vicinity of 10,000 MW.

No comments: