Showing posts with label TRANSPORT. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TRANSPORT. Show all posts

Thursday, March 28, 2013

India Pipelines

1. Naharkatiya Oilfield in Assam to Barauni refinery in Bihar via Noonmati – First pipeline

2. Barauni-Kanpur pipeline for transport of refined petroleum

3. Haldia-Maurgram-Rajbandh pipeline

4. Ankleshwar oilfield to Koyali refinery in Gujarat

5. Mumbai High Koyali pipeline

6. Hajira-Bijapur-Jagdishpur (HBJ) pipeline (1750 km). Extended from Bijapur to Dadri in U.P.

7. Kandla to Luni in U.P via Delhi for LPG transport (1250 Km)

Indian Railways, Headquarters

1. Nothern Raiway- Delhi

2. Southern Railway -Chennai

3. Eastern Raiway- Kolkata

4. Western Railway -Mumbai (Churchgate)

5. North-Western Railway -Jaipur

6. North-Central Railway- Allahabad

7. North-Eastern Railway -Gorakhpur

8. North-East Frontier Railway- Guwahati

9. East Coast Railway- Bhubaneshwar

10. East Central Railway- Hazipur

11. West Central Railway -Jabalpur

12. Central Railway- Mumbai (V.T)

13. South-Central Railway- Secundarabad

14. South Eastern Railway -Kolkata

15. South-Western Railway -Bangalore

16. South-East Central Railway- Bilaspur

Saturday, February 2, 2013


The International Airport Authority of India (IAAI) was set up in 1972 manages the international airports. J.R.D. Tata was the first to make a solo flight from Mumbai to Karachi, (Now in Pakistan) in 1931.

Following are the important International Airports :

1. Anna International Airport, Chennai.

2. Jawaharlal Nehru Airport (Santa-Cruz), Mumbai.

3. Indira Gandhi International Airport at New Delhi.

4. Subash Chandra Bose Airport (Dum-Dum) at Kolkata.

5. Rajasansi Airport at Amritsar, Punjab.

The National Airport Authority manages 88 domestic aerodromes and nearly 28 civil enclaves in which
23 are classified as major airport, 43minor and 22 as intermediate airports.

Following are some of the Inland Aerodromes :

1. Kamaraj Domestic-Chennai

2. Safdarganj-New Delhi

3. Juhu-Mumbai

4. Begumpet-Hyderabad

5. Thiruvananthapuram-.Kerala


Road Network : With a network of 2.7 million kilometres of road length, India has the Third largest road network in the world. From a road length of about 4 lakh kilometres in 1950-51. The road network has expanded nearly Seven-Fold. National Highways : The National Highway System is the primary road grid of the Country. The construction and maintenance of National Highways is the direct
responsibility of the Central Government. National Highways have a total length of 34,258 kilometres. National Highways carry nearly 40% of the total traffic.
Highways Authority : The main task of the authority is to takeover in a phased manner, the construction, maintenance and operation of the national highways. Before the constitution ofthe authority the maintenance of the roads was done by the State PWDs.

Twelve of the principal highways are :
1. Delhi-Amritsar

2. Delhi-Kolkanda

3. Agra-Mumbai

4. Jalandhar-Srinagar-Uri

5. Delhi-Ahmedabad-Mumbai

6. Chandigarh-Manali

7. Ambala-Shimla-Tibet

8. Jorhat-Shillong-Bangladesh

9. Manali-Leh

10. Pathankot-Mandi

11. Cochin-Madurai

12. Beawar-Sirohi-Kandla.
Longest N H - 7  ( kanyakumari to varanasi )


The Indian Railways system is the largest in Asia and third in the world after U.S., and Canada, it is the biggest employer in the world and largest public sector undertaking in India and it has the second biggest electrified system in the world after Russia . On April 16, 1853 first train in India was opened between Bombay and Thana covering a distance of 34 km. Shatabdi Express is the latest super-fast train introduced in the Indian Railways. Deccan Queen is the first Electric train introduced in 1929. Life Line Express or Jeevan Rekha is the world’s first hospital on wheels opened in Mumbai on 16th July 1991 to cater the medical needs of people in rural areas. For every financial year Railway Budget is presented by the Union Railway Minister in the Parliament.

Rail Tracks : Type Distance between rails
(a) Metre Gauge 1.00 metre
(b) Broad Gauge 1.69 metre
(c) Narrow Gauge 0.77 metres

Railway Zones :

1. Central Railway-Nov. 05, 1958- Mumbai

2. Eastern Railway- Aug. 01, 1955 -Kolkata

3. Northern Railway- April 14, 1952- New Delhi

4. North-Eastern Railway -April 14, 1952 -Gorakpur

5. North-East Frontier- Jan. 15, 1958 -Maligaon, Guwahati

6. Southern Railway- April 14, 1951- Chennai

7. South-Central- Oct. 02, 1966 -Secunderabad

8. South-Eastern -Aug. 01, 1955 -Kolkata

9. Western Railway -Nov. 05, 1955 -Mumbai (Church Gate)

10. East-Coast Railway -Aug. 08, 1996- Bhubaneshwar

11. North-Central Railway- Aug. 28, 1996 -Allahabad

12. East-Central Railway- Sep. 08, 1996 -Hajipur

13. North-Western Railway-Oct. 10, 1996 -Jaipur

14. South-Western Railway-Nov. 01, 1996- Bangalore

15. West-Central Railway -Dec. 12, 1996 -Jabalpur

16. South-East Central Rly.- Sep. 09, 1998- Bilaspur

Railway Manufacturing Units :

1950 Chittaranjan Locomotive Works - Chittaranjan - Locomotives

1955 Integral Coach Factory - Perambur- Coaches

1964 Diesel Locomotive Works- Varanasi -Locomotives

1983 Wheel & Axle Plant Diesel Component Works - Yelahanka Patiala- Wheels & axes  Components of diesel engines

1988 Rail CoachFactory -Kapurthala -Coaches, wagons & spl. containers