Showing posts with label GENERAL KNOWLEDGE. Show all posts
Showing posts with label GENERAL KNOWLEDGE. Show all posts

Friday, January 10, 2014

Children's film fest in Hyderabad

Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy and other personalities lit the traditional lamp to formally open the festival. 
Actor Ranbir Kapoor and child artist Darsheel Safary of "Taare Zameen Par" fame were the star attractions at the inaugural ceremony. 
The festival received 896 entries from 74 countries. They include 123 entries under the Little Directors section.  For the first time, the ICFFI received 26 films from South America. 

International Children's Film Festival India (ICFFI) also popularly known as The Golden Elephant is a biennial festival that strives to bring the most delightful and imaginative national and international children's cinema to young audiences in India. Outstanding features, shorts, live action and animation films are screened over seven days of festive celebrations, attended by more than one hundred thousand children and hundreds of film professionals from across the world will meet at Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh.
ICFFI is organized by Children's Film Society India (CFSI). CFSI started functioning in 1955 as an autonomous body under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting with Pandit Hriday Nath Kunzru as President. CFSI's maiden production Jaldeep won the first prize for best Children's Film at the 1957 Venice Film Festival.
Every two years, the festival begins on 14th November, the birth date of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru – India's first Prime Minister – also fondly referred to as Chacha Nehru (Uncle Nehru), because of his love for children. Pandit Nehru established CFSI soon after India's independence with the hope that indigenous and exclusive cinema for children would stimulate their creativity, compassion and critical thinking. It is this vision of Jawaharlal Nehru that guides ICFFI.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Latest Appointments In The World

1. Abdulla Yameen appointed as the new President of Maldives.
2. Bill de Blasio – New York City’s first Democratic mayor in two decades.
3. Imomali Rakhmon Reelected as the President of Tajikistan
4. Syed Jalil Abbas Jilani appointed New Pakistan’s envoy to USA.
5. Syed Ibne Abbas: New Pakistani envoy to India.
6. Ms Tehmina Janjua: Pakistan’s permanent representative (PR) for the United Nations in New York.
7. Nawaz Sharif: New Pm of Pakistan
8. Mamnoon Hussain – 12th President of Pakistan
9. Miss World 2013: Megan Young from Philippines
10. Obabiyi Aishah Ajibola of Nigeria – New World Muslimah 2013 11. Ibrahim Boubacar Keita: New Mali President
12. Mulatu Teshome: New president of Ethiopia
13. Hun Sen: New Cambodian Prime Minister
14. Tony Abbott :New PM of Australia. He succeeded Kevin Rudd
15. Nouri Abusahmain: Preseident of Libya
16. Ali Zeidan: Libya PM (Prime Minister)
17. Wael Nader Al-Halqi: Prime Minister of Syria.
18. C.V. Wigneswaran - Northern Province CM of Sri Lanka.
19. Satya Nadella (India-born) – New Microsoft CEO
20. Roberto Azevedo – Head of W.T.O.
21. New King of Belgium: Prince Philippe
22. Samantha Power – US ambassador to United Nations.
23. Susan Elizabeth Rice – National Security Adviser to Obama
24. James Comey – next FBI Director of US.
25. Staffan de Mistura – Italian Special Envoy to India.
26. Dr. Christopher Briggs – Secretary General of the Ramsar Convention .
27. Poonam Khetrapal Singh, first woman regional director of WHO
28. Takehiko Nakao – new President of ADB
29. Ashok Vemuri – the President and CEO of iGate Corporation.
30. Puneet Talwar – the Assistant Secretary of State for Political Military Affairs by the US President Barack Obama.
31. The new Argentine pope Jorge Mario Bergoglio (76) – new Pope becomes the 266th pontiff.
32. Thomas Batch (Germany) – 9th President of IOC succeeded Jacques Rogge of Belgium.)
33. Rangaswamy Srinivasan is the only Indian American re-nominated by Obama for the District of Columbia Circuit.
34. Elbegdorj Tsakhia – New Mongolia president.
35. Abdoulaye Bathily of Senegal – New Deputy Special Representative for the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali (MINUSMA).
36. Satish Babu(Director, International Centre for Free and Open Source Software (ICFOSS)) – elected to 2014 Nominating Committee of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Numbers and Names (ICANN). .
37. Hassan Rouhani – New Iran’s seventh President
38. Robert Mugabe – President of Zimbabwe
39. Pak Lt Gen Maqsood Ahmed – UN military advisor
40. Shinzo Abe – New PM of Japan.
41. John Kerry- The secretary of state (US).
42. Nicos Anastasiades – President of Cyprus .
43. Hazem El-Beblawi – new Prime Minister of Egypt
44. Khil Raj Regmi – New Prime Minister of Nepal
45. Park Geun-hye – President of S. Korea (1st women president).
46. Raul Castro – President in Cuba.
47. New King of Netherlands: Willem-Alexander
48. Enrico Letta – New PM of Italy
49. Srikanth Srinivasan – first Indian-American judge in the U.S. Supreme Court
50. Abdul Hamid- New Bangladesh President
51. Elbegdorj Tsakhia new Mongolia President

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)

Headquarters - Kathmandu
Member Country - Capital
1. Afghanistan--Kabul
2. Bangladesh---Dhaka
3. Bhutan---Thimphu
4. India---New Delhi
5. Maldives---Male
6. Nepal---Kathmandu
7. Pakistan---Islamabad
8. Sri Lanka---Colombo

ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations)

Headquarters - Jakarta
Member Country - Capital
1. Brunei Darussalam---Bandar Seri Begawan
2. Cambodia--Phnom Penh
3. Indonesia---Jakarta
4. Laos PDR---Vientiane
5. Malayasia---Kuala Lumpur
6. Myanmar---Naypyitaw
7. Phillipines---Manila
8. Singapore---Singapore
9. Thailand---Bangkok
10. Vietnam--Hanoi